Archive for June 19th, 2010

June 19, 2010

The Father of my Children

My husband and I often talk about what our life would be like without our children to fill our days.  We waited eight years after we were married before having children.  In that time frame we played hard, worked hard and played hard some more.  We had a fantastic little cabin just the right size for two of us, a very independent dog and the freedom to do what we wanted.  We wonder at times what possessed us to give all that up for parenthood.

It would seem that something which means poverty, disorder and violence every single day should be avoided entirely, but the desire to beget children is a natural urge.  ~Phyllis Diller

Although the days of coming and going as we pleased are gone for a while, the joy that it has been replaced with is immeasurable.  Don’t get me wrong, parenting is the hardest job on earth.  There are many days we question our abilities.  We won’t know if we were successful at it until our little work assignments are grown up, looking at raising their own work assignments.  But what a journey.

The greatest joy is sharing the journey with such an amazing man.  My husband is a hard working man who supports and loves his family.  We see eye to eye on parenting and we depend on each other to get us through the challenge.  I am honored to be a mother.  I am proud and even more honored to be the mother of his children.

To my amazing husband and the terrfic father he is to our kids, I love you and I respect you as a man, husband, friend and father.  Thank you for sharing this crazy ride with me!

Happy Father’s Day!!!

Oh, the comfort, the inexpressible comfort of feeling safe with a person, having neither to weigh thoughts nor measure words, but pouring them all out, just as they are, chaff and grain together, certain that a faithful hand will take and sift them, keep what is worth keeping, and with a breath of kindness blow the rest away.  ~Dinah Craik

June 19, 2010

Happy Fathers Day, Dad

When I was a little girl, my Dad was my hero.  He was big and strong, he could do anything, he could make anything, fix anything and find anything. He was the smartest person I knew and above all else, I knew that he really loved me. Come to think of it, none of that has changed, he still has all those heroic characteristics.

Dad worked hard to support our family.  He was gone 12 hours a day and when he got home he would milk the cow, fix a TV for a neighbor, do his church duties, take a college class or help with duties around the house.  All of this and he still had time for me.  He would sit at the table to help with homework, play a game or drag me around on his feet.

HE MUST HAVE BEEN TIRED ALL THE TIME!!

My Dad had endless energy then and still does today.  At a very young 79, he is just as active now as he was 50 years ago.  He amazes me at all he can accomplish in one day.  He stays young by being active and only accepting his years in number, not in thought or action.  I am honored to have him for my father and I am so thankful my children get to know him and love him as I do.

Happy Father’s Day Dad!!

Oh, the comfort, the inexpressible comfort of feeling safe with a person, having neither to weigh thoughts nor measure words, but pouring them all out, just as they are, chaff and grain together, certain that a faithful hand will take and sift them, keep what is worth keeping, and with a breath of kindness blow the rest away.  ~Dinah Craik